Travelling to Philippines? Read all updated requirements before you book.
ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers

Removed from saved list

7.9

Very good

90 reviews

90 reviews

Food & Dining2
Housekeeping2
Breakfast1
See map

8

Excellent

Location rating score

Excellent location - 320 meters from city center
Parking
FREE
Popular landmarks
Robinsons Place Manila 2.9 km
Rizal Park 3.9 km
National Museum 4.1 km
Manila Ocean Park 4.1 km
Fort Santiago 4.6 km
San Agustin Church 4.6 km
Casa Manila 4.7 km
Manila Cathedral 5.0 km
Quiapo Church 5.0 km
Intramuros 5.2 km
Nearby landmarks
emanuel sevilla dental clinic 140 m
Health Port 140 m
Cash & Carry Supermarket 240 m
Comprehensive Pulmonary Clinic 260 m
Cash & Carry Parking Area 260 m
Noah global 300 m
Palanan Health Center 310 m
Cash and Carry Mall 340 m
Lifemed Clinics and GB Diagnostics 340 m
Ortiz Medical & Skin Clinic 370 m

ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers

#3416 Guernica Street, Barangay Palanan, Makati, Manila, Philippines, 1235 - See map

Get your trip off to a great start with a stay at this property, which offers car park free of charge. Conveniently situated in the Makati part of Manila, this property puts you close to attractions and interesting dining options. Don't leave before paying a visit to the famous Intramuros. Massage and restaurant are among the special facilities that will enhance your stay with on-site convenience.

Show more

Highlights

540 meters to public transportation

Front desk [24-hour]

Laundry service

Smoking area

Dry cleaning

Hygiene Plus
This property has self-selected and self-certified the following hygiene measures.Learn more
Safety Features
Staff trained in safety protocol
See all amenities
Preventative Equipment
Hand sanitizer
Health and Medical
First aid kit
Important announcement -- "As part of the Coronavirus (COVID-19) restrictions, the property may request additional documentation from guests to validate identification, travel itinerary, and other relevant information. Please contact the property for more details."

Facilities

Valet parking

Front desk [24-hour]

Luggage storage

Laundry service

Restaurants

Tours

Concierge

Wi-Fi in public areas

Your dates are popular among travelersUsers are booking a place in Manila every 1 minutes on Agoda.com
Value for money8.1
Location rating8.0
Nearest airportNinoy Aquino International Airport (MNL)
Distance to airport5.3 km

Rooms available at ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers

6-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
...
  • Room size: 6 m²/65 ft²
Enter dates to see prices
20-bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
...
  • Room size: 18 m²/194 ft²
Enter dates to see prices
Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room
...
  • Room size: 7 m²/75 ft²
Enter dates to see prices
12-bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom
...
  • Room size: 7 m²/75 ft²
Enter dates to see prices
Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
...
  • Room size: 6 m²/65 ft²
Enter dates to see prices
20-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom (1 Twin Bed)
...
    Enter dates to see prices
    Room Assigned on Arrival
    ...
      Enter dates to see prices
      12-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom (1 Twin Bunk Bed)
      ...
        Enter dates to see prices
        Bunk Bed - Mixed Dorms 12 beds
        ...
          Enter dates to see prices
          6-Bed Mixed Dorm with Shared Bathroom (1 Twin Bed)
          ...
            Enter dates to see prices

            Frequently asked questions

            What time is check-in and check-out at ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers?

            Check-in is from 11:30 AM, and check-out is until 12:00 PM. You may request early check-in or late check-out during booking, subject to availability. Guests checking in or out before or after the designated periods may be charged an additional fee. The hostel offers luggage storage to guests for before check-in and after check-out. The front desk is always open, day or night.

            How do I get to ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers?

            For those who wish to drive their own cars, ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers has a car park available for guests. Parking is free for guests. Parking options include a full-service valet for total ease. If you're looking for an easy way to get around Manila with private transportation, the hostel can arrange car rental for you.

            What is the smoking policy at ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers?

            ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers does not permit smoking in any of its rooms, but allows smoking in designated areas.

            What is the closest train, metro, or bus station to ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers?

            Dela Rosa is the closest train, metro, or bus station, about 540 m away from ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers.

            What restaurants are nearby ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers?

            Restaurants including Rekado, Amber Golden Plate Restaurant and Andok's SAN ISIDRO are popular in ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers’s neighborhood which is known as Makati.

            What popular shopping places are close to ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers?

            Located in the Makati area, ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers is close to great shopping choices like Cash and Carry Mall, Cost U Less Trade Ventures and Makati Cinema Square.

            What are popular attractions near ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers?

            Guests at ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers can easily visit Ball Pit Manila, GT International Tower and Legazpi Active Park located in the Makati area.

            What popular natural sightseeing spots are close to ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers?

            ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers is located in the Makati area, which is famous for natural sightseeing destinations such as Sample1.

            Show more questions
            See map

            Explore the neighborhood

            What people love about ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers

            • 10

              Exceptional

              "You will feel like home in this place."

              Steven

              |

              August 23, 2019

            • 10

              Exceptional
              Staff 

              "Friendly staff, I felt there like at home."

              Rakovskaia

              |

              February 24, 2019

            • 10

              Exceptional

              "Good place to stay"

              Rakovskaia

              |

              February 4, 2019

            Property ranking|Compared to 3,681 Manila properties
            See all rankings
            Service score
            8.5/10
            Value for money score
            8.1/10
            Location score
            8/10
            Cleanliness score
            7.3/10
            Better than
            93
            %
            of Manila properties
            Better than
            90
            %
            of Manila properties
            Better than
            86
            %
            of Manila properties
            Better than
            84
            %
            of Manila properties
            Overall rating:

            7.9

            Very good
            90 reviews
            Cleanliness
            7.3
            Facilities
            7.3
            Location
            8.0
            Read all reviews >
            More about ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers

            More about ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers

            ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers

            Wake up to a magical day and enjoy all that Manila offers with a stay at ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers.
            ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to travelers. Post your pictures and answer your emails whenever you want, with the hostel's free Wi-Fi internet access. The hostel provides car hire services to help you find what you want in Manila. Parking is available and free, provided by the hostel for guests with their own transportation.
            While lodging at this wonderful hostel, the helpful staff at the front desk can assist you with multiple services that include concierge service and luggage storage. If you want seats to city's best entertainment, you can get help through the hostel's tours. The hostel's on-site dry cleaning service and laundry service help you keep your favorite travel outfits clean so you can pack less. The hostel is entirely non-smoking, ensuring a clean air environment.
            Smoking is restricted to the designated smoking areas.


            Dining and things to do

            Never let hunger affect your travel plans! Restaurants on-site provide convenient and tasty dining options. If you're truly selective about eating, you'll be grateful for the in-house shared kitchen available here.
            ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers offers an excellent variety of recreational facilities. Pamper and indulge yourself with a visit to the massage. Have some relaxing fun with family and friends at the shared lounge and TV area.


            Reasons to stay here

            This hostel scores higher than 89% of the city's accommodations on value for money
            This hostel's food and dining score higher than 89% of accommodations in the city.
            This hostel stands out for its staff and service, scoring higher than 92% of the city's accommodation.

            Show more
            Amenities and facilities
            Very good
            Facilities

            7.3

            Most talked about facilities

            Food & Dining

            3 mentions

            Taxi

            2 mentions

            Housekeeping

            2 mentions

            Internet

            1 mention

            Languages spoken

            • English
            • Filipino

            Internet access

            • Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!
            • Wi-Fi in public areas

            Things to do, ways to relax

            • Massage
            • Tours

            Cleanliness and safety

            • Body thermometer
            • Daily disinfection in all rooms
            • Daily disinfection in common areas
            • Face coverings on staff
            • First aid kit
            • Hand sanitizer
            • Physical distancing of at least 1 meter
            • Protective screens in common areas
            • Safe dining setup
            • Staff trained in safety protocol
            • Temperature check for guests and staff

            Dining, drinking, and snacking

            • Restaurants
            • Shared kitchen

            Services and conveniences

            • Concierge
            • Dry cleaning
            • Elevator
            • Laundry service
            • Luggage storage
            • Smoke-free property
            • Smoking area

            Access

            • Fire extinguisher
            • Front desk [24-hour]
            • Pets allowed
            • Security [24-hour]

            Getting around

            • Car park [free of charge]
            • Rental car
            • Valet parking
            Food and dining
            Breakfast options
            • Asian
            Location
            #3416 Guernica Street, Barangay Palanan, Makati, Manila, Philippines, 1235
            Excellent
            Location

            8

            Airports

            • Ninoy Aquino International Airport (MNL)
              5.3 km 16 min drive
            • Subic Bay International Airport (SFS)
              82.0 km

            Public transportation

            • Dela Rosa
              540 m
            • Gil Puyat LRT Station
              840 m

            Hospital or clinic

            • emanuel sevilla dental clinic
              140 m

            Shopping

            • Robinsons Place Manila
              2.9 km

            Convenience store

            • 7 Eleven
              880 m

            Cash withdrawal

            • ATM
              190 m 3 min walk
            What's nearby

            Popular landmarks

            • Robinsons Place Manila
              2.9 km
            • Rizal Park
              3.9 km
            • National Museum
              4.1 km
            • Manila Ocean Park
              4.1 km
            • Fort Santiago
              4.6 km
            • San Agustin Church
              4.6 km
            • Casa Manila
              4.7 km
            • Manila Cathedral
              5.0 km
            • Quiapo Church
              5.0 km
            • Intramuros
              5.2 km

            Nearby landmarks

            • emanuel sevilla dental clinic
              140 m
            • Health Port
              140 m
            • Cash & Carry Supermarket
              240 m
            • Comprehensive Pulmonary Clinic
              260 m
            • Cash & Carry Parking Area
              260 m
            • Noah global
              300 m
            • Palanan Health Center
              310 m
            • Cash and Carry Mall
              340 m
            • Lifemed Clinics and GB Diagnostics
              340 m
            • Ortiz Medical & Skin Clinic
              370 m
            Distances shown are straight-line distances on the map. Actual travel distances may vary.
            Property policies
            Children and extra beds

            Extra beds are dependent on the room you choose. Please check the individual room capacity for more details.

            All children are welcome.

            Children 0-3 year(s)
            Must use an extra bed
            If you need an extra bed, it will incur an additional charge.
            Guests 4 years and older are considered as adults
            Must use an extra bed which will incur an additional charge.
            Others
            • Towels can be provided by the property with PHP 50 fee per piece.
            • Guests can use the stove on the property with PHP 50 fee per day.
            • As part of the Coronavirus (COVID-19) restrictions, the property may request additional documentation from guests to validate identification, travel itinerary, and other relevant information. Please contact the property for more details.
            • When booking more than 5 rooms, different policies and additional supplements may apply.
            Some helpful facts

            Check-in/Check-out

            • Check-in from11:30
            • Check-out until12:00

            Reviews of ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers from real guests

            Provided by verified guests of Agoda
            7.9
            /
            10
            Cleanliness7.3
            Facilities7.3
            Location8.0
            Service8.4
            Value for money8.1
            High score for Manila
            Rating
            9+ Exceptional (13)
            8-9 Excellent (6)
            7-8 Very Good (2)
            6-7 Good (4)
            <6 Below Expectation (13)
            Time of the year
            Mar - May (5)
            Jun - Aug (8)
            Sep - Nov (12)
            Dec - Feb (13)
            All guests (90)
            All languages

            Show reviews that mention 

            Showing 38 verified guest comments
            12
            10.0
            Exceptional
            Steven from Indonesia
            Solo traveler
            Bed in 20-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
            Stayed 1 night in August 2019

            Exceptional”

            kind and helpful staff, close to Tourist destination, and convenient place.. oh and that cute friendly dog... you will feel like home in this place.

            Reviewed August 23, 2019

            See room deals

            10.0
            Exceptional
            Rakovskaia from Russia
            Solo traveler
            Stayed 2 nights in February 2019

            Amazing ”

            Very good place for transit travel and not only. Friendly staff, I felt there like at home. Thank you so much ❤️

            Reviewed February 24, 2019

            See room deals

            Dear Rakovskaia, Thank you for the positive feedback! We aim to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectation. Obsession with providing an outstanding customer experience at the lowest prices is what sets ZEN apart from most budget hotels. We look forward to welcoming you back with ZEN! Kind regards, Putri

            Responded April 01, 2019
            ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
            10.0
            Exceptional
            Rakovskaia from Russia
            Solo traveler
            Stayed 2 nights in January 2019

            Very good service, clean and no insects”

            Good place to stay

            Reviewed February 04, 2019

            See room deals

            Dear Rakovskaia, We truly appreciate you taking your time to share this wonderful review with fellow travelers! We are very pleased to have received a great feedback from you! Your positivity is very encouraging! We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we are happy to hear we hit the mark for you. As the top-rated budget hotel company in Asia, we pride ourselves in providing the best value-for-money stays. We hope to welcome you again anytime soon! Best regards, Putri

            Responded April 01, 2019
            ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
            6.8
            Good
            Shai from Israel
            Solo traveler
            Stayed 1 night in January 2019

            Kind staff”

            There is nice atmosphere at the bar but very had to fall asleep with all the noise that still on even in 01:00 am

            Reviewed January 29, 2019

            See room deals

            Dear Shai, Thank you for staying with us! It is great to hear that our staff can accommodate you well while you stay with us. However, we are sorry to know that the experience of staying with us was overshadowed by the noises from outside. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. With our constant focus on the lowest rates and the best value for money, we are happy to see that we could help you to travel more and pay less. We hope to welcome you soon at our best! Kind regards, Putri

            Responded April 01, 2019
            ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
            6.4
            Good
            Sean
            Solo traveler
            Stayed 3 nights in January 2019

            Good”

            Extensive common area, however it is not fully enclosed so beware of mosquitoes at certain times of day. Large dorm room. Not the best arrangement but it's satisfactory.

            Reviewed January 21, 2019

            See room deals

            Dear Sean, Thank you so much for the feedback. It’s a surprise to hear that mosquitoes were an issue during your stay, as we always spray the rooms with mosquito repellent upon preparing the room. We can assure you that we are continuously working on improving our guest experience and your feedback is helping us. With ZEN, you can be sure to get the best value for money accommodation. We hope to see you again! Kind regards, Putri

            Responded April 01, 2019
            ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
            5.2
            JOAN from Philippines
            Business traveler
            Stayed 1 night in April 2019

            Above average”

            Too noisy.. Too many by standers.

            Reviewed April 22, 2019

            See room deals

            3.6
            Lena from Germany
            Couple
            Stayed 1 night in February 2019

            A veritable disaster”

            Only three bathrooms for over 26 people. One was broken, one smelled disgustingly, for the third one you have to wait a while before you could use it. There were cockroaches in the bathroom. The 20-bed-dorm smelled like hell. There was no real option to air the room (only two mini windows which never have been used by the hostel staff or any other hostel guest during the stay). Barely any daylight in the room. Two bunk beds stand in front of the windows so there is (day-)light from the outside hostel corridor shining on your bed. And people outside can watch you lying in your upper bed from the outside if you don't cover the window with a towel or so. Signs say that you have to be quiet after 11 p.m. but during the two nights we stayed loud music, playing guitar etc. went on until 2 a.m. in the morning. The hostel staff seemed to support people making noisy by saying nothing or making their own party. Staying a little time after check-out will be charged. + Hot water for free, kitch

            Reviewed February 11, 2019

            See room deals

            Dear Lena, Thank you for your review. We deeply sorry to hear you had such a frustrating experience with us. However, we really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention. Please rest assured that we are looking into this issue and hope to resolve it promptly and accurately. We want to extend our sincerest apologies concerning all the issues that you have faced. We would love to make things right if you give us another chance. With ZEN, you can be sure to get the best value for money accommodation. We hope to welcome you again with better experience to share! Kind regards, Putri

            Responded April 01, 2019
            ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
            4.0
            taeho from Philippines
            Business traveler
            Bed in 20-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
            Stayed 1 night in May 2019

            So noise and irresponsible”

            Too loud even over 3am, Crazy

            Reviewed November 07, 2019

            See room deals

            2.0
            jackylyn from Philippines
            Solo traveler
            Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
            Stayed 1 night in May 2020

            dirty and staff are cheap”

            very dsirty place and dangerous they dont check the health of the peole who want to check in room is 10 bed with 20 people.manager is very rude and cheap when she talk she will make u feel u stay there free and she is only helping u only cute guys treated nice

            Reviewed July 21, 2020

            See room deals

            2.0
            Hicham from France
            Solo traveler
            Stayed 34 nights in September 2020

            bad hotels in asia”

            avoid its all trouble

            Reviewed June 04, 2021

            See room deals

            10.0
            Exceptional
            Michal from Czech Republic
            Solo traveler
            Stayed 6 nights in August 2018

            Great place to stay in Manila”

            It is the most friendly staff in this hostel, location is it close enough to the airport and also lots of choices for food and drinks around. Highly recommend for short or long stay. I was here around the two weeks.

            Reviewed August 28, 2018

            See room deals

            Dear Michal, Thank you for the perfect score! We are very happy to accomodate you in a place that you found strategic! Obsession with providing an outstanding customer experience at the lowest prices is what sets ZEN apart from most budget hotels. With ZEN, you can be sure to get the best value for money accommodation. We look forward to see you again. Best regards, Bella

            Responded September 17, 2018
            ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
            10.0
            Exceptional
            Anna from Poland
            Solo traveler
            Stayed 1 night in May 2018

            Great atmosphere and very relaxed stay, staff and owners are very kind and always there to help you!”

            Excellent food, great people, very helpful and kind staff and owners, very convenient location, one of the best hostels!

            Reviewed May 25, 2018

            See room deals

            Dear Anna, Thank you for the perfect score! It is very exciting to know that you had a great stay and felt so warmly welcomed during your stay with us. As the top rated budget hotel franchise in Asia, we work hard to provide the best value-for-money stays and a pleasant experience. We look forward to see you again! Best regards, Bella

            Responded September 17, 2018
            ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
            10.0
            Exceptional
            Michal from Czech Republic
            Solo traveler
            Stayed 16 nights in August 2018

            Best hostel in Manila”

            This the most friendly place with amazing staff, location is a short ride by taxi from the airport and all the great food around just in walking distance. Highly recommended.

            Reviewed September 07, 2018

            See room deals

            Dear Michal, Thank you so much for the perfect rating! We are very happy to accomodate you in the property and provide you with a great stay. We appreciate your recommendation to our future travellers! As the top rated budget hotel franchise in Asia, we work hard to provide the best value-for-money stays and a pleasant experience. We look forward to see you again! Best regards, Bella

            Responded September 17, 2018
            ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
            10.0
            Exceptional
            lestari from Indonesia
            Solo traveler
            Stayed 4 nights in May 2018

            high recommended”

            clean, spacious, nice staff, quick to take action if some problem coming. walking distance to the mall and also to the big street where you take jeep or bus

            Reviewed June 03, 2018

            See room deals

            Dear Lestari, Thank you for the perfect score! We are very happy to know that you had a great stay with us, especially with the service provided! At ZEN Rooms we pride ourselves in taking actions fast - this is how we became the top rated budget hotel chain in Asia. We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Bella

            Responded September 17, 2018
            ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
            8.4
            Excellent
            Ana from Australia
            Solo traveler
            Stayed 1 night in December 2018

            Excellent”

            Good place to stay as it's cheap, clean and well located. Staff is friendly. Wi-Fi is good. The only downside is that quiet time is not really respected so it can be hard to get some decent sleep.

            Reviewed December 05, 2018

            See room deals

            10.0
            Exceptional
            Michal from Czech Republic
            Solo traveler
            Stayed 6 nights in August 2018

            Nice and cheap place ”

            Convenient location, just behind the corner is a big shopping mall and from airport several minutes by taxi.

            Reviewed August 20, 2018

            See room deals

            Dear Michal, Thank you for the perfect score! We are happy to help you travel more and pay less! Low rates and constant focus on enhancing customer experience are what sets ZEN Rooms apart from many other budget hotels. We will be looking forward to welcome you back! Best regards, Bella

            Responded September 17, 2018
            ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
            6.0
            Jackie
            Solo traveler
            Stayed 1 night in June 2018

            Cheap”

            Cheap rate with breakfast bread-toast and coffee (although I don't drink coffee, no other option). Chinese Nationality did make a refill on the electric kettle and they are shocked it came from the faucet instead of mineral water (I know the germs can be gone when it is heated, but glad wasn't able to drink it- if there was choco or powdered milk.) Room are the only place with NO SMOKING. So if you want to work in the common rooms, good luck coz people and the owner smoked anywhere. Finally, obviously the owner is into good entertaining foreigners. Hope you know what I mean.

            Reviewed June 18, 2018

            See room deals

            Dear Jackie, Thank you for the feedback! We are very sorry to hear about your inconvenience regarding the smoking policy. Please be assured that we have raised this to the higher management and our team to be discussed for an improvement. We work continuously to ensure our guest could have a great stay with us. By booking with ZEN Rooms you can be sure to get the best value-for-money. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Bella

            Responded September 17, 2018
            ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
            8.4
            Excellent
            Andrey from Russia
            Solo traveler
            Stayed 1 night in October 2018

            After the heat and slums of Manila really looks like paradise.”

            Not very powerful Wi-Fi. Of the benefits of a large number of European travelers. There is also cheap local food and a decent supermarket.

            Reviewed October 28, 2018

            See room deals

            Dear Andrey, We would like to apologize for inconvenience occurred during your stay. We can assure you that we have made a lot improvements since the last time you stay. Obsession with providing an outstanding customer experience at the lowest prices is what sets ZEN apart from most budget hotels. We hope to meet you again in the near future! Kind regards, Putri

            Responded April 01, 2019
            ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
            8.8
            Excellent
            Ana from Australia
            Solo traveler
            Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

            A real haven in Makati”

            Awesome and friendly staff. Very good wifi. Enjoyable place to just chill. Had a great stay !

            Reviewed November 25, 2018

            See room deals

            8.4
            Excellent
            Pavel from Russia
            Solo traveler
            Stayed 2 nights in November 2018

            Need conditioner at 6 people number and adapter for many sockets”

            Need conditioner at 6 people number and adapter for many sockets

            Reviewed November 06, 2018

            See room deals

            Dear Pavel, Thank you so much for leaving us a review. We are sorry to hear that you went through some unpleasant moment during your stay. Next time when you stay with us, please do not hesitate to ask for assistance from our staff as they will be happy to help you. By booking with ZEN Rooms you can be sure to get the best value-for-money. We hope to see you again! Kind regards, Putri

            Responded April 01, 2019
            ZEN Hostel Haven Backpackers
            12
            This is a popular property. Don't miss out!

            Back to search results

            Back to room choices

            |

            Dismiss